Four conversations in celebration of

the bicentennial of the Greek Revolution of 1821

In celebration of the bicentennial of the Greek Revolution,

the Ambassador of Greece in Washington,

H.E. Alexandra Papadopoulou

cordially invites you to

 the first conversation,

“Loving Greece in Rome: Hellenic Culture in an Age of Empire,”

On Sunday, February 7th,

at 2:00 pm (CST), 3pm (EST), 1:00pm(MST), 12:00 noon (PST)

Mary Boatwright, Professor Emerita of Classical Studies, Duke University,

and,

Young Richard Kim, Associate Professor, Head, and Director of Undergraduate Studies of Classics and Mediterranean Studies, University of Illinois at Chicago,

will discuss the impact of Greek culture on the Romans, especially on the emperors Nero and Hadrian, and how Philhellenism in the Roman Empire elicited complex and at times contradictory responses among the Romans. The same might be said of attitudes toward the Greeks in the time of the Revolution.

www.facebook.com/ConsulateGeneralOfGreeceInChicago